WELLESLEY: South Asian America talk

“South Asian America: How media, entertainment and politics are changing everything”
Wellesley College
Asian American Awareness Month
Thursday, March 6, 2008

I spoke tonight at a gathering on the beautiful Wellesley campus (my first time here; less than an hour outside Boston’s Logan airport). The event was organized as part of the college’s Asian American Awareness Month celebrations. I was asked to talk about South Asians and the media and used the opportunities to address some of the changes I have observed all around us. Here are the photo, videos and links I used during my talk.

2008 Happenings/things I didn’t see growing up in NYC:

The Williams Sisters
March 5, 2008: Serena and Venus Williams in Bangalore for the Bangalore Open.

“The Love Guru,” the new Mike Myers movie – opening June 20

“Brick Lane,” the movie based on Monica Ali’s hit novel – opening June 20:

“Harold and Kumar Escape from Guantanamo Bay” – opening April 25:

Leave a comment